***The Tales Compendium blog is currently on hiatus. However you can still following along via the Instagram feed!***

Friday, August 19, 2011

CBCA Winners 2011

The Children's Book Council of Australia announced the winners of their annual CBCA awards this morning. The winners and honour books are:

Older Readers Book of the Year 2011

Winner - The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett
Honour - Grafitti Moon by Cath Crowley
Honour - The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher by Doug MacLeod

Younger Readers Book of the Year 2011

Winner - The Red Wind by Isobelle Carmody
Honour - Just A Dog by Michael Gerard Bauer
Honour - Violet Mackerel's Brilliant Plot by Anna Branford, Illus. Sarah Davis

Early Childhood Book of the Year 2011

Winner - Maudie and Bear by Jan Ormerod, Illus. Freya Blackwood
Honour - The Tall Man and the Twelve Babies by Tom Niland Champion and Kilmeny Niland Illus. Deborah Niland
Honour - Look See, Look at Me by Leonie Norrington, Illus. Dee Huxley

Picture Book of the Year 2011

Joint Winner - Mirror by Jeannie Baker
Joint Winner - Hamlet by Nicki Greenberg
Honour - Why I Love Australia by Bronwyn Bancroft
Honour - My Uncle's Donkey by Tohby Riddle

Eve Pownall Book of the Year 2011

Winner - The Return of the Word Spy by Ursula Dubosarsky, Illus. Tohby Riddle
Honour - Drawn From the Heart: A Memoir by Ron Brooks
Honour - Our World: Bardi Jaawi: Life at Ardiyooloon by One Arm Point Remote Community School

Congratulations to all the winners and honour books!


  1. Congrats to the winners! So many awesome titles :)

  2. I'm so pleased Mirror won in its segment, it's so beautiful and such an important message for our times. A great list of books, both winners and honours.

  3. Ooooh, "The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher" looks SO good. Congrats to all the winners and nominees; what an honor!!!!

  4. i love your post.

    so professionally done :)

    xx Nomes


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...